Current VPA News

Two College of Visual and Performing Arts (VPA) students were among the 35 chosen by Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee to be the 2016-17 Remembrance Scholars. Jourdann Borski '17, an environmental and interior design major in the School of Design, and Ryan Gibson '17, a drama/theater management major in the Department of Drama, who is dually majoring in writing and rhetoric in the College of Arts and Sciences, were selected from VPA.

The scholarships were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. The students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing.

The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations. Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by C. Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Steve Barnes ’82 and Deborah Barnes; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Selection Process
Remembrance Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a rigorous, competitive process. Applicants write three essays as part of a comprehensive application, and finalists are interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and current Remembrance Scholars. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded on the basis of distinguished academic achievement, citizenship and service to the community.

The scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Oct. 28.