The College of Visual and Performing Arts is organized into Administrative Offices and 6 Academic Departments or Schools. Please select your area of interest from the list below.

College Administration

Office of the Dean

The Office of the Dean oversees the offices of Academic Affairs, Advancement, Communications, Financial Affairs, the Information Technology Group, Recruitment and Admissions, Strategic Initiatives and Student Affairs. Please visit the Office of the Dean for a complete listing and more information.

Academic Departments

Department of Art

The Department of Art houses the classical visual-arts disciplines such as painting, drawing, sculpture, printmaking, ceramics, jewelry and metalsmithing, and fiber and textile arts, and as well as art education and the history of art. Please visit the department page for a complete listing of courses of study and degrees offered.

Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies

Communication and Rhetorical Studies involves the academic study of human communication in all its many forms. Whether it is the way two people form a relationship, the way a group interacts to perform a task, they way an organization crafts a collective identity, the way a political campaign forges its message, or the way audiences react to film and television. Visit the Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies for more information.

Department of Design

The Department of Design includes communication design, fashion design, industrial and interaction design and interior design. The department offers BFA degrees as well as a BID (bachelor of industrial design) and a masters degree in collaborative design. Concern for sustainable design practices, social issues, and excellence in professional practice forms the core of the programs. Visit the Department of Design for more information.

Department of Drama

The Department of Drama offers four BFA programs in Acting, Musical Theater, Stage Management, Theater Design and Technology as well as a BS in Drama. The department's unique collaboration with Syracuse Stage offers opportunities for professional experience in all areas of study in an Equity theater while working towards undergraduate degrees. Visit the Department of Drama for more information.

Setnor School of Music

The Setnor School of Music is comprised of the departments of Applied Music and Performance; Music Composition, Theory and History; Music Education; and Music and Entertainment Industries, which also houses the popular Bandier Program. Private instruction is available from the school's dozens of instructors and there are numerous choirs, bands, orchestras, jazz groups, and other ensembles open to students from all majors across campus and SUNY ESF. The school offers both undergraduate and graduate degrees and several different courses of study. For complete information, please visit the Setnor School of Music.

Department of Transmedia

The Department of Transmedia is a major academic center for the training of media arts professionals in the fields of Computer Art, Film, Photography and Video Art. The department offers rewarding studio experiences in well-equipped production facilities and numerous study-abroad opportunities. The curriculum includes media arts history, comprehensive and diverse theory and contemporary issues courses as well as practical production studio classes. Transmedia offers BFA and MFA degrees. Visit the department for complete information.