Produce at least three films, including a final project
Recording Studio Recording Studio
Lighting Studio and Cyclorama Lighting Studio and Cyclorama
Lighting Studio Lighting Studio
Previous Next

Why Our Program?

  • Our program encourages an interdisciplinary approach; you can further enrich your studies by exposure to other disciplines in VPA and the larger University.
  • Our program is relatively small (12-15 students). Graduate and undergraduate students work closely with one another and with the faculty in an intimate learning environment.
  • You will benefit from a diverse student body, which includes students from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and the United States.
  • Global study opportunities in Prague, Czech Republic, and Bologna, Italy, will complement your Syracuse coursework.
  • Our faculty members are practicing filmmakers who are active in the Syracuse and international filmmaking communities. Recent recognition includes a New York State Council on the Arts grant.
  • Our program is nationally recognized; in 2018 it was ranked No. 22 by the Hollywood Reporter on its list of the top 25 film schools in the United States.
  • When you graduate, you will belong to a global network of enthusiastic VPA alumni.


Shaffer Art Building

The film program is housed in Shaffer Art Building, which is home to all programs and facilities in the Department of Transmedia. The film production facilities include 4K Hi-end digital film cameras such as Canon C500 and Sony F3 with Odyssey 7Q+ recorders, 4K RAW enabled; Blackmagic Design 4K production cameras; Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Cameras with Metabones Speed booster; Hi quality Zeiss film lenses; and a large array of Canon PL lenses. We also offer students the possibility of shooting 16mm and Super 16mm with our Aaton XTR Production camera as well as Arri SR1, CP16, and Bolex cameras. We have a large range of location lighting and grip gear such as Arri M18 HMI, Arri Compact HMI Fresnel 1.2K, 4x4 Kino-Flo Banks, Kino-Flo Diva Lite, and Joker-Bug 800W HMI among many others. Our non-linear editing facilities are 4K ready, equipped with the Adobe Creative Cloud, Da Vinci Resolve 12, and our color grading station has a Flanders Scientific Professional broadcast monitor. We count with a top-notch sound mixing studio as well as two lighting studios and green screen.

Visiting Artists

Cinematographer Vilmos Zsigmond

You will draw inspiration and insight from the resident and visiting artists who come to the film program and the Department of Transmedia each year. Recent visiting artists have included composer Patrick Doyle; actor/director Giancarlo Esposito; director Abbas Kiarostami; screenwriter Dale Launer; filmmaker Albert Maysles ’49; filmmaker Dani Menkin; Jim Morris '77 G'78, producer and president of Pixar; director/producer Joel Schumacher; Cynthia Slavens, director of post production and marketing at Pixar; actor/director Peter Weller G’05; filmmaker Susan Youssef; and cinematographer Vilmos Zsigmond.