VPA Convocation | Carrier Dome

The Setnor School of Music celebrates our talented students each year by recognizing their dedicated work in the following performance areas: vocal, instrumental, and ensemble. The school also presents several departmental awards and school-wide academic and music awards.

Setnor School of Music Awards 2019

Anna Freeland Berry Memorial Prize
For a female undergraduate student who has a high degree of dedication, attainment, and promise in voice: Julia Clifford

Joanna and Roger Moore Award
For vocal excellence: Jacob O’Shea

Carol Hall Nichol Memorial Prize
For a student majoring in classical voice: Ryan Mewhorter

Shannon Kane Memorial Award
For an outstanding flute or other woodwind instrumentalist majoring in music education: Shoko Nagami

Earl George Award in Choral Music
For excellence in choral music: Nicholas Godzak

Morton Schiff Jazz Award
For outstanding jazz musician students: Kyle Swigert, Connor Owen

Donna Z. Miller Award
For a junior demonstrating a commitment to achieving excellence in voice: Jacob O’Shea

Simeon Popov Memorial Award
For an outstanding orchestral musician: Catherine Vedilago

Setnor Performance Award for Winds and Percussion
For demonstrated excellence in performance by a wind or percussion upperclass or graduate student: Zhongyang Ling, Samantha Ryan

Setnor Performance Award for Strings
For demonstrated excellence in performance by a string upperclass or graduate student: Chou Li Tsai

Helen Falk-Julius Kahn Award
To further music education: Camille Bourland, Madeline Gonynor, Kathleen Krumbach, Brittany Montpetit

Douglas Soyars Music Industry Award
For excellence in music industry: Steven Visceglia, Rebecca Ross, Adam Sulkin, Caroline Bauman

Marion Armstrong Award
For excellence in musical performance: Jacob O’Shea, Samantha Ryan

School of Music Faculty Award
For a student who made the greatest contribution to the Setnor School of Music: Paul Clark

Irene L. Crooker Music Award
For demonstrated excellence in music: Patricia Magliaro

Patti Thompson Buechner Award
For an outstanding vocal student: Kyle Seniw, Patricia Magliaro