Composer Jeanine Tesori
Taye Diggs Acting Workshop

Each year, the Department of Drama brings a distinguished roster of nationally and internationally renowned industry professionals—many of whom are drama alumni—to Syracuse.

Often, these guest artists are in residence for one to four weeks, and many of them return to Syracuse annually.

Additionally, many of the artists who are here performing at Syracuse Stage or in other Syracuse cultural venues are invited to work with drama students. The workshops, master classes, and discussions that these artists lead provide experiences that both broaden and deepen the classroom and experiential learning provided by department faculty.

Recent guests have included:

  • Aaron Sorkin ‘83 H'12, Academy, Emmy, and Golden Globe Award-winning writer/producer (The Social Network, The Newsroom, The West Wing)
  • Taye Diggs ’93, actor (Private Practice, Rent, How Stella Got Her Groove Back)
  • Vanessa Williams ‘85, Tony, Emmy and Grammy Award-winning actor/singer (Sondheim on Sondheim, Into the Woods, Desperate Housewives, Ugly Betty)
  • Frank Langella ‘59, Tony Award-winning actor (Frost/Nixon)
  • Mike Rego ‘90 and Hank Unger ‘90, producers (Urinetown, Wicked, Rock of Ages)
  • Julia Murney '90, actor (Wicked, The Wild Party)
  • Jay Harrington '93, actor (Benched, Hot in Cleveland)
  • Nick Corley '81, actor/director (Woody Sez - The Life and Music of Woody Guthrie)
  • Brendon Stimson '09 (Newsies,original Broadway company; West Side Story)
  • Catherine Charlebois '09 (Wicked, Broadway/national tour/regional; Steel Magnolias)
  • Tony Walton, Emmy, Academy, and Tony Award-winning designer
  • Dawn Chiang, designer
  • Marjorie Bradley Kellogg, designer
  • Michael Krass, designer
  • Jeanine Tesori, award-winning composer (Shrek, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Caroline, or Change, Violet)
  • Tarrel Alvin McCraney (award-winning playwright, The Brother/Sister Plays)
  • Chuck Cooper, Tony Award-winning actor/singer
  • Lillias White, Tony Award-winning actor/singer
  • Andrew Wade, voice and verse (the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Guthrie Theater)
  • Joan Schirle, founding artistic director, the Dell’Arte Company
  • Liza Gennaro, choreographer
  • Dana Moore, dancer/choreographer
  • Jason Robert Brown, composer (Songs for a New World, Parade, The Last Five Years)
  • Martha Graham Dance Company
  • Paul Taylor Dance Company
  • Alvin Ailey Dance American Dance Theater
  • Ballet Hispanico
  • Patdro Harris, director/choreographer/writer
  • Ping Chong, director/choreographer/video and installation artist
  • Anne DeSalvo, artist, actor, writer, director, and producer