VPA Convocation | Carrier Dome

The School of Design recognizes the outstanding achievements of its students by presenting awards in the spring at the conclusion of the academic year.

2017 Awards and Recipients

Master's prize

For students who exemplify excellence in graduate studies
Ran Jing

Elizabeth and alan Dye Award

For an outstanding senior in communications design
Joy Scull


To an outstanding junior enrolled in communications design
Joseph Marion

Paul Leibowitz Award

For expertise in web navigation
Rachel Lindholm

Sylvia Wyckoff Award

Recognizing the achievements of a part-time art or design student
Bernice Sy

Outstanding Senior Award

In fashion design
Laura Fidati

Jesse Bone & F. Montague Charman Founders Award

For excellence in design concept
Joan Kao


For excellence in knit design
Marissa Mariscal

Robert E. Kalvitis Award

For excellence in product design
Claire Duncan
Matthew Goodman

Bert Rice Memorial Award

For the most promising student in industrial and interaction design
Hadley Allen

Arthur Pulos Award for Thesis Design

For excellence in scholarship at thesis
Erol Ozcelik

Fashion Award

For fashion design
Simon Perez

Elisa Ribatt Memorial Prize

For an outstanding and deserving senior in design
Karina Campos