The Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies sponsors both undergraduate and graduate annual competitions for outstanding accomplishments.

The J. Calvin Callaghan Graduate Student Achievement Award

The J. Calvin Callaghan Graduate Student Achievement Award Fund was established by Carol S. Callaghan, the wife of Dr. J. Calvin Callaghan, and his daughters, Martha Bergsten, Elinor Brady, and Ellen Collins, who wished to honor the memory of Dr. Callaghan.

From 1945 to 1967, Dr. Callaghan was a professor in the Department of Speech Communication at Syracuse University and chair of the department for twelve of those years. He also taught at Lehigh University, the Columbia University Division of War Research and was professor of speech at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He wrote more than 30 articles in professional journals and chapters of books. He served as president of the Speech Association of Eastern States (1957-1958) and was listed in the Directory of American Scholars and Who’s Who in American Education.

This award is given in hopes of encouraging graduates student to pursue the career to which Dr. Callaghan devoted so much of his life.

It is awarded each spring semester to a second-year graduate student in good academic standing and enrolled in Syracuse University’s Preparing Future Faculty Program. The criteria include an overall GPA, quality of teaching portfolio, and the quality of a graduate research paper submitted for review.

2018 Winners

Oreoluwa Olaniyan
Hunter Thompson

The Mary Elizabeth Earle Prize

The Mary Elizabeth Earle Endowed Prize in Communication and Rhetorical Studies was established in 2003 by Richard ‘60 (ESF) and Patricia '62 (VPA) Gustafson to honor Mrs. Gustafson’s cousin Mary E. Earle, a 1973 graduate of the School of Education, for her work and dedication with voice and speech.

The fund provides a prize to an outstanding undergraduate student enrolled in CRS who is judged by a CRS faculty committee to have submitted an outstanding research paper.

The prize is awarded each spring semester.

2018 Winners

First Place: Hunter Dickerson
Second Place: Grae Gleason

The White-Denison PRESENTATIONAL Speaking Competition

The White-Denison Presentational Speaking Competition recognizes students who demonstrate outstanding public speaking skills. It traces its history to the White Public Speaking Contest and the Denison Public Speaking Contest, founded in 1916 and 1927, respectively. The contests were combined in 1963 into the current competition.

Contestants submit a complete sentence outline by the end of the fall semester. Based on those outlines, a faculty committee determines the finalists who are invited to deliver their speeches before an audience of CRS students and faculty to determine the winner. The outlines are judged according to the quality of content and organization. The faculty judge the finalists based on skills of delivery and style. The top three finishers receive a cash award.

The prize is awarded each spring semester. To apply, please fill out our application form.

Application Form

2018 Winners

Grand Prize: Andres Valentin Laguna Martino
Exceptional Speaker Prize: Samuel Carter